top of page

avventure veneziano

I had my first day of school this week!

(First day of school picture! Also a trip to the dollar store)

It took me all week, but I finally got to each of my classes, met all of my teachers, and found out how much money I would have to spend on class fees and books. (It really isn't too terrible.) I currently have four classes, and I will have a fifth class every weekday starting at the end of March for only three weeks. The classes I have right now are Communicating in Italian (learn how to speak some basic Italian to function here), Developing Mind Potential: Mindfulness Practices (learn to control your thoughts, emotions, anxiety, living in the moment, and life in general), Intro to Fashion Photography (pretty self-explanatory), and Food of Italy: Regional Cultures (learn about different Italian foods and the regions they are from-I get to eat!) So far all of the professors seem great; I am more excited about some classes than others, naturally. I only really got lost on my way to one of them, and that's because it is the furthest one away, and I am telling you, these building numbers are feeling impossible to get the hang of.

Aside from classes I still had a pretty busy week. I made myself lots of ravioli, because it is fresh from the market and one of the best things I've made, and eaten, since being here.The fresh market has also become one of my favorite places in the city. It is difficult to explain but it is such a spectacular, friendly atmosphere, it's cheap, and obviously, fresh. It also makes me feel a little less American when I go, which is a plus I don't get very many other places.

(My typical ravioli meal: spinach and ricotta ravioli, sauteed brocoli and garlic, with cheese)

(Me after going grocery shopping at the market and getting the first coffee-ish drink I have had since coming-which was free!)

I also booked multiple trips this week! I have three trips to other places in the mainland of Italy planned, and also a basic plan to go to Sicily. I got to go to Ganzo, the school restaurant, I guess you could call it, for AperiGanzo night, where people can go and pay 5 euro to get unlimited aperitivo (appetizers) and a free drink. It was crowded, but I loved it. I also went out with some friends to a local Mexican bar to get margaritas! I ordered mango, and it was delicious, and all of the frozen ones are huge. Next time I'm also getting nachos.

Yesterday, I took my first trip out of Florence! Bri and I, and 230 other Smart Trip travelers filled five coach busses and made our way up to Venezia! I slept for over two hours on the bus, which was surprising but much needed. We parked the bus and took an adorable boat over to the city, which was brightly waiting for us.

The weather was perfect, despite getting quite cold later in the evening, and the chaos was obvious within seconds... They were celebrating Carnival, which is basically a massive Mardi Gras festival where everyone dresses up, throws confetti, goes to see performances and other activities, all that fun stuff. Once we docked in the city we went to San Marco Square, which was literally packed full of people. It was thrilling and amazing to watch.

(On our way to San Marco)

(Arrived at San Marco Square, where they held all sorts of crazy activities)

We went to see a glass blowing demonstration at a high-end Murano glass studio, which I loved, as I have wanted to learn to do that for some time now. This was one of the places that makes the real, hand blown glass Venice is known for. Our "guide" explaining the demonstration was a little creepy but pretty funny, and very informational. He told us about the "real" glass producers and how different colors are made, how red is the color of Venice, how the gold on the outside of many products is made, and the packaging they use to ship things.

(Our Venetian glass-blower)

We were let loose to run free after the presentation, so Bri and I started on a mission. Bri had been to Venice before, and I am lucky enough to be going back with my family over spring break, so we took to a general direction to actually get off the island and sail over to Burano, another nearby island. It didn't take us long to find carnival masks, and we were lucky enough to spot a place that had hand-painted ones. We each bought a mask from the woman that had painted each of them, I stopped in another Murano glass shop and bought myself a red glass thimble, which I am thrilled about, and we also each got a fritter, something Venice is popular for, and I got some confetti for later.

(Venezia)

(Masks, fritters, and sunshine)

Soon we wandered our way to the edge of the island and found the little ferry to take us to Burano. This was all Brianna's idea and I could not have been happier or more impressed. It was the best decision we have made since being here, and we knew it almost instantly.

Welcome to paradise.

The island seemed unreal, as if we were looking at photos of made-up places that someone’s happy imagination thought up and fictionally created. The houses were literally all different colors: lime green, olive green, bright orange, deep magenta, light pink, cobalt blue, powder blue, happy yellow, and I even saw a few nice lavender purple colors. It was incredible. We just walked in awe and took photos, and it was much less crowded which was refreshing up next to the crazy streets of the carnival, even though I didn’t mind the atmosphere of the crowds.

We grabbed some food and sat on a garden planter to eat and relax for a few minutes. We didn't have long so we made our way back to the docks, stopping at a wonderful glass shop along the way run by some friendly locals.

This is a rotolo (according to the sign in front of it). It was basically a little rolled up pizza containing eggplant, zucchini, pepper, brie, and garden rocket, which is apparently arugula? It was pretty tasty.

(Loving Burano)

When we got back to the docks we were crushed amongst all the people in a mob to get through the doors. It was kind of pathetic sight of humans from an outside perspective-we very much so resembled cattle to me-but I have to admit it was kind of a fun experience. We were very tired when we got back to Venezia but we got back at the perfect time. The sun wasn't quite down yet and we had an ideal amount of time to get back to our meeting place. As we got closer to San Marco the streets became even more alive, which would have been hard for me to imagine earlier, and we threw some of my confetti, stopped in a little clothing shop, and then had a ball following after crazily-dressed Venetians in the square to get photos.

(Masked carnival-goer posing for us all)

This was probably some of the most spectacular night life I have ever experienced, because I could never explain using words how incredible these people all looked. We eventually got back to the meeting point. had to wait around for a while, and then started on our long trek home.

It was an incredible day, definitely one of those once in a lifetime experiences.

This morning, bright and early once again, Bri and I headed out. This time just down the street, to go to la Galleria degli Uffizi. It's free on the first Sunday of every month! We got there and worried a little bit because of what we thought was a massive line, but we got in pretty switfly, and realized it was another great decision. We got to see lots of famous art by Botticelli, Caravaggio, Leonardo, and plenty of others, all for free and a two minute walk. It can't get much better than that.

(Free ticket to the Uffizi!)

(Botticelli's love depiction of Venus)

Tonight I will be a lot closer to all of my family and friends back home, as I will be staying up with a bunch of other Americans to watch the Super Bowl! A group of us got tickets to one of the American bars that is staying open to watch the game and I am sure it will be a great time.

That is all I've got for now, until my next adventure. I hope all is well back in the States. Arrivederci.

Love, abbie


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page